• 14 Apr, 2024

Mohammed Shami Honored with Arjuna Award by President Murmu

Mohammed Shami Honored with Arjuna Award by President Murmu

On January 9, 2024, President Droupadi Murmu of India bestowed the prestigious Arjuna Award upon the exceptional fast bowler, Mohammed Shami. This esteemed recognition came as a culmination of Shami's outstanding performance in the 2023 ODI World Cup, where his prowess on the cricket field left an indelible mark. The Board of Control for Cricket in India, acknowledging Shami's remarkable contributions, had proposed his name for this distinguished honor. This accolade not only celebrates Shami's individual achievements but also serves as a testament to his dedication and skill, further solidifying his place as a cricketing maestro on the global stage. 


On January 9, 2024, the illustrious fast bowler from India, Mohammed Shami, was honored with the prestigious Arjuna Award by the esteemed President of India, Droupadi Murmu. This recognition came as a fitting tribute to Shami's remarkable performance in the ODI World Cup 2023, where he emerged as the standout bowler of the tournament. The Board of Control for Cricket in India, acknowledging Shami's sensational outing, recommended his name for this esteemed accolade. His exceptional skills and unwavering determination were showcased as he claimed a staggering 24 wickets from just 7 matches during the pinnacle event, solidifying his status as a cricketing maestro on the global stage. The Arjuna Award thus stands as a testament to Shami's dedication, talent, and invaluable contributions to the sport of cricket, marking a significant milestone in his illustrious career. 

This recognition is undoubtedly a dream come true. Many people aspire to win this esteemed prize throughout their lives, but very few are fortunate enough to do so. "I am incredibly happy and grateful to be one of the nominees for this prestigious award," Shami said in advance of the ceremony. 

In a surprising turn of events during the initial phase of the 2023 World Cup, Mohammed Shami found himself excluded from the starting lineup for the first four matches. However, fate took a sharp twist when Hardik Pandya sustained a gruesome ankle injury in a clash against Bangladesh on October 19, prompting Shami's inclusion in the starting XI. Seizing the opportunity, Shami left an indelible mark on the tournament for the Indian team, delivering a stellar performance by claiming five crucial wickets against New Zealand. This pivotal moment marked the beginning of Shami's remarkable journey in the competition, as he went on to set a new record. Concluding the tournament with an impressive tally of 24 wickets, Shami not only played a pivotal role in the team's success but also outperformed the illustrious Jasprit Bumrah, asserting his prowess as a standout pacer for India. 

How many players were awarded the Arjuna Award for 2023? 

In a remarkable display of athletic prowess, 26 outstanding individuals were honored with the prestigious Arjuna Award for their exceptional performances in 2023. The spotlight shone brightly on the athletes who had showcased their brilliance at the Asian Games 2023, as India emerged triumphant in China with an unprecedented tally of 107 medals. This monumental achievement shattered the nation's previous record of 70 medals, set during the Jakarta 2018 Asian Games, celebrated for its 16 gold medals. 

However, the 2023 Hangzhou Games not only surpassed the earlier quantity but also raised the bar in terms of quality. On the climactic day of the competition, India reached new heights by clinching an astonishing 12 medals, including 6 golds, 4 silvers, and 2 bronzes. This extraordinary feat propelled India's overall medal count to over 100 for the first time in the history of the competition. 


The icing on the cake was the prestigious Arjuna Award ceremony held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on Tuesday, January 9. President Murmu, with pride and admiration, bestowed the awards upon the 26 deserving athletes, among them the likes of Shami and long jumper M Sreeshankar. The Arjuna Award, considered the second-highest sporting honor in India after the Khel Ratna Award, symbolized not only individual achievements but also the collective triumph of a nation that had etched its name in the annals of sporting glory. 

Complete List of 2023 Arjuna Award Recipients 



Ms Aditi Gopichand Swami 


Shri Ojas Pravin Deotale 


Shri Sreeshankar Murali 


Ms Parul Chaudhary 


Shri Mohameed Hussamuddin 


Ms R Vaishali 


Shri Mohammed Shami 


Shri Anush Agarwalla 


Ms Divyakriti Singh 

Equestrian Dressage 

Ms Diksha Dagar 


Shri Krishan Bahadur Pathak 


Ms Pukhrambam Sushila Chanu 


Shri Pawan Kumar 


Ms Ritu Negi 


Ms Nasreen 


Ms Pinki 

Lawn Bowls 

Shri Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar 


Ms Esha Singh 


Shri Harinder Pal Singh Sandhu 


Ms Ayhika Mukherjee 

Table Tennis 

Shri Sunil Kumar 


Ms Antim Panghal 


Ms Naorem Roshibina Devi 


Ms Sheetal Devi 

Para Archery 

Shri Illuri Ajay Kumar Reddy 

Blind Cricket 

Para Canoeing 

Ms Prachi Yadav