• 16 Jul, 2024

CSK vs RCB IPL 2024 Match: live streaming details and more

CSK vs RCB IPL 2024 Match: live streaming details and more

The defending champion Chennai Super Kings will play the Faf du Plessis-led Royal Challengers Bangalore at MA Chidambaram Stadium on March 22 to kick off the 2024 Indian Premier League. 

The famous cricketer Mahendra Singh Dhoni gave Ruturaj Gaikwad the captain's baton for CSK one day before the competition got began. 

The CSK officially announced the news on their social media accounts. "OFFICIAL STATEMENT: MS Dhoni hands over captaincy to Ruturaj Gaikwad," the statement read.  

After making his CSK debut in 2020, Gaikwad played 52 games for the five-time IPL champions. He will now be the captain of the Super Kings, who under Dhoni's guidance have won the IPL title five times: in 2010, in 2011, in 2018, in 2021, and in 2023.  

CSK Vs RCB IPL 2024 Match 1 

So far, CSK and RCB have faced off in 31 matches, with CSK winning 20 and RCB winning 10. One match came to a deadlock. Aside from this, CSK won 46 and lost 18 of the IPL games held at MA Chidambaram.  

Pitch Report:CSK Vs RCB IPL 2024 Match 

The MA Chidambaram stadium is renowned for giving spinners an advantage. However, the pitch at Chepauk tends to slow down in the second half, making chasing challenging.  

Weather Conditions:CSK Vs RCB IPL 2024 Match 

There shouldn't be any chance of rain and a clear sky. Therefore, it is doubtful that the weather will affect how the match plays out.  

Venue, time, and date:CSK Vs RCB IPL 2024 Match  

On March 22, at 8 p.m. (IST), CSK vs. RCB, the first IPL 2024 match, will take place at Chennai's MA Chidambaram Stadium (Chepauk).  

Broadcast details:CSK Vs RCB IPL 2024 Match 

The Star Sports Network in India will televise the first IPL 2024 match between CSK and RCB. 

Live streaming details:CSK Vs RCB IPL 2024 Match 

The JioCinema app and website will provide live streaming for the CSK vs. RCB IPL 2024 Match 1. 

Squads: CSK Vs RCB IPL 2024 Match 

CSK: MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Deepak Chahar, Devon Conway, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Ruturaj Gaikwad (captain), Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Ravindra Jadeja, Ajay Mandal, Mukesh Choudhary, Matheesha Pathirana, Ajinkya Rahane, Shaik Rasheed, Mitchell Santner, Simarjeet Singh, Nishant Sindhu, Prashant Solanki, Mahesh Theekshana, Rachin Ravindra, Shardul Thakur, Daryl Mitchell, Sameer Rizvi, Mustafizur Rahman, Avanish Rao Aravelly. 

RCB: Faf Du Plessis (captain) Rajat Patidar, Virat Kohli, Anuj Rawat, Dinesh Karthik, Suyash Prabhudessai, Will Jacks, Saurav Chauhan, Glenn Maxwell, Mahipal Lomror, Karn Sharma, Cameron Green, Swapnil Singh, Mayank Dagar, Manoj Bhandage, Akash Deep, Alzarri Joseph, Lockie Ferguson, Mohammad Siraj, Yash Dayal, Tom Curran, Reece Topley, Himanshu Sharma, Rajan Kumar, Vyshak Vijay Kumar. 

Can RCB break the Chennai 

Faf du Plessis' incredible performance just one month ago qualified the Johannesburg Super Kings for the SA20 playoffs. And in four months, he will be back in the yellow uniform for the Texas Super Kings, partnering with head coach Stephen Fleming. Their history dates back to 2011, when du Plessis was signed by Chennai Super Kings before he had even represented South Africa in international cricket. 

However, du Plessis has currently given up his yellow second skin in favor of Royal Challengers Bengaluru's red and blue for the rest of this IPL. He was once a fan favorite at Chepauk and on Friday, he will make his debut as the captain of the RCB in Chennai.  

Just hours before the teams reported for training on the eve of the IPL 2024 season opener, Ruturaj Gaikwad, the previous opening partner of Plessis, was named CSK's captain, taking MS Dhoni's place. 

Given that the odds are stacked against RCB in Chennai, Gaikwad has a proud record to protect. They had previously defeated CSK at Chepauk during Fleming's playing days in the inaugural IPL season (2008). RCB has since suffered seven straight losses. In the match that took place there in 2019, they were dismissed for 70 runs in 17.1 overs. That RCB forced CSK to work till the 18th over of their winning chase was because to Moeen Ali and Yuzvendra Chahal.  

While Moeen may bat alongside three other spinners on Friday against the Royals (Maheesh Theekshana, Ravindra Jadeja, and part-timer Rachin Ravindra) on what may be another slow pitch, Chahal is currently with the Rajasthan Royals. On the other hand, Mayank Dagar (left-arm fingerspin), Himanshu Sharma (mystery spin), Karn Sharma (legspin), and Swapnil Singh (left-arm fingerspin) are the only choices available to the RCB team in terms of elite spinners. This season, it appears that RCB has thrown all of its eggs into one basket—both at home and abroad.